Brits Traveling to the EU Must Pay €7 Once in 3 Years Only

November 19, 2021
Brits traveling to the EU

Brits traveling to the EU must pay seven euros only once in three years, not every time they visit the European Union.

Some media in the UK have spread rumors concerning travel to EU territory from mid-2022, and the European Travel Information and Authorization System (ETIAS), in particular, worrying Britons.

Some People Must Get Travel Authorization from Mid-2022

ETIAS is a travel authorization that nationals from third countries must get from mid-2022 under the Schengen visa-free regime.

Britons, former EU nationals, can’t be bothered to obtain this document. Still, when traveling to the States, they need to get a similar certificate called ESTA, which stands for Electronic System Travel Authorization.

Media in the UK reported that Brits traveling to the EU would have to pay a “hefty fee” each time they traveled to Europe, though ETIAS is still cheaper at €7 than ESTA, which costs almost €13 ($14).

One of the headlines read, “British Tourists to Be Hit by Hefty Post-Brexit Fee for EU Holidays in 2022.” Another one proclaimed, “The Post-Brexit Fee Will Make Holidays to Europe More Expensive.”

Travel to the EU Will Not Become More Expensive for Britons

Travel to the territory of the European Union will not get more costly for Brits. The fee of €7 per application is relatively low compared to what nationals from other third countries need to pay for visa applications (€80). Britons also don’t have to pay that fee every time they visit the EU. They only need to apply for an ETIAS once in three years.

Travel experts said, “The ETIAS will not be a burden for travelers’ finances as it will cost only €7. At the same time, each ETIAS that is approved will be valid for a period of three years, or until the holder’s passport expires, whichever comes first.” They also highlighted that people could use each travel authorization several times, provided they didn’t overstay when traveling in the Schengen territory.

Besides, the travel experts pointed out that people younger than 18 would not be subject to any fees when submitting an ETIAS application.

While nationals from over 60 countries can travel to the 26 Schengen countries visa-free, some 1.4 billion travelers, including Americans, will have to apply for ETIAS by the end of 2022.

The European Union has started ETIAS to prevent those people from entering their territory who put public health or security at risk or potentially breach migratory laws.

< Previous Post
France Won’t Urge EU Members to Ban Short-Haul Flights
Next Post >
US Passport Renewal Application (2021) – How to Renew your US Passport Securely