Bulgaria Closed Borders to Most EU Countries Due to Omicron Worries

January 11, 2022
Bulgaria closed borders to most EU countries

Due to Omicron concerns, Bulgaria closed borders to most EU countries after updating its list of epidemiologically safe and hazardous nations. The list defines what entry regulations apply to visitors from specific countries.

According to the Bulgarian Ministry of Foreign Affairs, the majority of nations are on the red list, which means that visitors from these countries face stricter entry requirements.

Most EU Countries Are in Bulgaria’s Red Category

These are the countries currently on Bulgaria’s red list:

  • Africa: Botswana, Cape Verde, Eswatini, Lesotho, Mozambique, Namibia, Tanzania, Seychelles, South Africa, Zambia, Zimbabwe
  • Asia: Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, Brunei, Jordan, Kyrgyzstan, Maldives, Mongolia, Myanmar, North Korea, Oman, Singapore, Sri Lanka, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan 
  • EU Members (except for Romania and the Vatican City) and the Faroe Islands, Georgia, Gibraltar, Greenland, Isle of Man, plus the United Kingdom
  • North America: Bahamas, Bermuda, British Virgin Islands, Canada, Turks and Caicos Islands, USA, 
  • Oceania: Australia, Fiji
  • South America: Argentina, Aruba, Barbados, Belize, Bolivia, Brazil, Cayman Islands, Chile, Costa Rica, Cuba, Curaçao, Dominican Republic, El Salvador, Grenada, Guatemala, Panama, Paraguay, Saba, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Sint Eustatius, Suriname, Trinidad and Tobago, Uruguay

Visitors from red list countries cannot enter Bulgaria unless they fall into one of the following categories:

  • Bulgarian citizens, residents, and their family members
  • Holders of an agricultural, or a medical, diplomacy, humanitarian, or tourism worker permit
  • People with special permission issued by the Ministry of Health and type D visa holders

Those in the last category can enter the country by showing a PCR test taken three days before departure, as well as a certificate of immunization, recovery, or the EU Digital Covid-19 Certificate.

Green List Countries Are Not Subject to Testing and Quarantine if Vaccinated or Recovered

Only Vatican City and Romania are now included in the green category, which represents epidemiologically low-risk countries. While Bulgaria closed borders to most EU countries, arrivals from the green group don’t need to get tested or quarantine if they produce a vaccination or recovery certificate.

The press release reads, “In the absence of the aforementioned documents, the person shall be quarantined for ten days at home or in another place of accommodation where he/she has indicated that he/she will reside.”

Arrivals from the orange category, which covers all nations not on the red or green lists, are subject to a similar restriction. What’s more, border health authorities test around 5% of arrivals from orange zones for Covid-19 using a lateral flow test.

According to WHO data, 485 people died in Bulgaria in the last seven days due to Covid-19, bringing the total number of deaths to 31,375. Besides, there have been 770,001 infections documented in Bulgaria, with 25,703 reported in the last seven days.

< Previous Post
Norway Imposed Quarantine for More EU Arrivals
Next Post >
South African Travelers Are No Longer Banned in the EU