Cyprus Wants Negative PCR Tests from All Travelers

January 4, 2022
Cyprus wants negative PCR tests from all travelers

Cyprus wants negative PCR tests from all travelers, regardless of their vaccination status.

According to the Cypriot government, arrivals will have to produce a negative Covid-19 PCR test result less than 48 hours old upon arrival in Cyprus.

The New Rules Apply Due to Omicron Worries

Cyprus decided to impose new entry restrictions in response to the rapid spread of the Omicron strain, which has so far afflicted numerous European and international countries.

Cypriot authorities said the decision would apply to all travelers above 12, regardless of their country of origin. The rule will be in effect from January 4th to January 15th.

According to World Health Organization (WHO) data, 154,926 people have tested positive for coronavirus in Cyprus since the outbreak began. In comparison, 630 people have died due to the virus over the same period.

The same source announced that over 8,100 Covid-19 infections and seven deaths had been reported in Cyprus in the last seven days.

The country’s Health Minister Michalis Hadjipantelas previously stated in this regard that “epidemiological indicators have rapidly deteriorated… with the possibility of an increase in hospital patient admissions,” implying that the country’s authorities would tighten entry rules to keep the epidemiological situation under control.

Travelers on the green list, which consists of territories considered epidemiologically safe, must also submit a negative Covid-19 test result upon arrival in Cyprus, according to the current rules enforced by the Cypriot government.

Cyprus Also Has a Color Scheme for Countries

Authorities in Cyprus followed the lead of other EU countries in categorizing territories into green, orange, and red groups based on Covid-19 infection rates to curb the spread of the virus.

Travelers from the orange group, which includes nations with a moderate risk of Covid-19, were required to perform a PCR test 72 hours before departure and have documents proving they were virus-free.

However, due to the recent amendments, Cyprus wants negative PCR tests from all travelers now. Everyone arriving on the island needs a negative PCR test result not older than 48 hours.

The following European Union and third countries have been placed on the red list after reporting high Covid-19 infection rates recently.

  • EU countries: Austria, Bulgaria, Belgium, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, and Sweden
  • Microstates: Monaco, Andorra, San Marino, Vatican City State
  • Schengen countries: Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway, Switzerland
  • Third countries: Argentina, Armenia, Belarus, Canada, Chile, Egypt, Georgia, Jordan, Lebanon, Oman, Peru, Russia, Serbia, South Korea, Ukraine, United Kingdom, United States of America

Last week, several European countries reported high infection rates with the Omicron variant. And on Friday, Cypriot authorities announced a new high of 5,048 coronavirus infections, many of which were caused by the Omicron strain.

< Previous Post
Quarantine in France for Unvaccinated US Travelers
Next Post >
No More Quarantine for Britons Traveling to Germany