Jordan and Namibia Are No Longer on the EU’s Covid-19 List of Safe Countries

December 3, 2021
Jordan and Namibia are no longer on the EU’s Covid-19 list of safe countries.

The African countries Jordan and Namibia are no longer on the EU’s Covid-19 list of safe countries. 

The European Union’s Council has removed them from the category safe for travel after reassessing the risk of Covid-19 transmission in these territories.

The Council’s statement reads, “Following a review under the recommendation on the gradual lifting of the temporary restrictions on non-essential travel into the EU, the Council updated the list of countries, special administrative regions and other entities and territorial authorities for which travel restrictions should be lifted. In particular, Jordan and Namibia were removed from the list.”

The Council Will Update the List Once a Fortnight

The Council of the European Union has pointed out that it would continue to review the list of safe countries every two weeks.

Besides, the Council has called on member states to ease travel restrictions at the borders for residents of the countries below, beginning on December 2nd:

  • Argentina
  • Australia
  • Bahrain
  • Canada
  • Chile
  • China, subject to confirmation of reciprocity
  • Colombia
  • Indonesia
  • Kuwait
  • New Zealand
  • Peru
  • Qatar
  • Rwanda
  • Saudi Arabia
  • South Korea
  • United Arab Emirates
  • Uruguay

The Council has also recommended its members to lift travel restrictions for travelers from Taiwan.

The statement reads, “Residents of Andorra, Monaco, San Marino, and the Vatican should be considered as EU residents for the purpose of this recommendation. Schengen associated countries (Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway, Switzerland) also take part in this recommendation.”

The Issue with Omicron and Strict Entry Rules

Now that the Omicron has appeared, it’s little surprise that Jordan and Namibia are no longer on the EU’s Covid-19 list of safe countries. The virus, now known as Omicron, first detected in Botswana the other day, prompted most EU and Schengen area countries to introduce amended travel restrictions on arrivals from the African continent. 

While European countries have started to lift restrictions imposed to prevent the spread of coronavirus, the new variant known as Omicron is a concern in Europe, as the new strain has already been detected in several countries across Europe, such as Belgium, Germany, Italy, Netherlands, and Switzerland. Many authorities have now reimposed stricter entry rules.

In response to the appearance of the Omicron, governments of EU countries agreed the other day to reintroduce travel restrictions on all travel into EU territory, at least temporary, for travelers from these countries:

  • Botswana
  • Eswatini
  • Lesotho
  • Mozambique
  • Namibia
  • South Africa
  • Zimbabwe

However, the recommendation is not legally binding, and governments of the member states can still choose not to implement any of the proposals.

Since the Omicron has begun to affect several European countries, Czechia, Denmark, Finland, France, Hungary, Lithuania, and Slovenia have tightened their entry rules for high-risk countries.

< Previous Post
Ireland Will Introduce Covid-19 Testing for Visitors from December 3rd
Next Post >
Traveling from Canada to Mexico – Latest COVID Travel Regulations