Norway Imposed Quarantine for More EU Arrivals

January 10, 2022
Norway imposed quarantine for more EU arrivals

Norway imposed quarantine for more EU arrivals taking effect today, January 10th, 2022. 

In other words, visitors from more European Union and Schengen countries are now subject to quarantine upon arrival in Norway.

The Whole EU Is Affected, Except Romania

Travelers from seven districts of Finland, four regions of Sweden, and the archipelagos of Sardinia and the Azores have to quarantine, according to a news statement that the Norwegian Ministry of Health and Care Services published on Friday, January 7th.

Covid-19 rates reported in these locations in the last two weeks of December 2021 were crucial for the decision.

The Ministry said, “There is now only one country, Romania, which has no requirements for entry quarantine,” highlighting travelers from all other EU and Schengen countries must quarantine upon arrival.

The Ministry stressed that the quarantine requirement did not apply to people who have been infected with Covid-19 in the previous six months, explaining the restrictions that applied to these countries, which were classified as red, dark red, and gray. Those who have been vaccinated against Covid-19 and those under the age of 18 are exempt.

Travelers subject to the isolation requirement can reduce their time in isolation by taking a PCR test three days after arriving in Norway.

Norway will continue to impose travel restrictions from the Schengen area and other nations in 2022, based on color-coded maps that divide countries and regions into the four categories green, orange, red, and dark-red.

Most Countries Are on Norway’s Dark-Red List

For the second week in a row, Romania has been the only country in the orange category, and no countries have been colored green for weeks. On the other hand, Bulgaria is the only country in the red group. Non-vaccinated and unrecovered Bulgarians, unlike Romanians, must quarantine upon arrival in Norway.

Unsurprisingly, Norway imposed quarantine for more EU arrivals. Andorra, Austria, Belgium, Croatia, Cyprus, the Czech Republic, Estonia, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Monaco, the Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, San Marino, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Switzerland, the United Kingdom, and the Vatican City are all in the dark-red category.

Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Malta, San Marino, Spain, and the Vatican City were previously on the red list, but from today, Monday, they’re all in the dark-red category. Travelers from these countries, however, will not notice any differences regarding travel restrictions because Norway imposed the same limits to visitors from the red and dark-red zones.

Most Nordic regions are also classified as dark-red, with only a few remaining on the red list.
The last time the lists were updated was on December 17th, when entry quarantine was implemented for visitors from Sicily, Finland’s Kajanaland and Satakunta regions, and Sweden’s Dalarna, Jämtland, Jönköping, and Södermanland regions.

< Previous Post
Traveling the US Without a Visa | All about the United States ESTA
Next Post >
Bulgaria Closed Borders to Most EU Countries Due to Omicron Worries