Spain Has Tightened Entry Rules for Malta Travelers

November 23, 2021
Spain has tightened entry rules

Spain has tightened entry rules for Malta travelers after adding the island to the high-risk category.

Spain has considered Malta one of the safe regions for several months, but now that there have been more Covid-19 cases lately, the west European country has added Malta to the list of territories with a high risk of Covid-19 transmission.

According to World Health Organization (WHO) data, Malta has had 59 new infections plus one death in the last 24 hours, which points to an upward trend compared to other weeks.

These Are the Current Entry Rules

In compliance with the current entry restrictions that Spain has imposed, everyone traveling from Malta needs to show proof of vaccination against coronavirus. The vaccination must be one of those that Malta has accepted for travel.

People who produce a valid recovery certificate not older than six months can also visit Spain. Those who do not possess the two documents must show a negative Covid-19 test result to enter Spain. Also, irrespective of the vaccination or recovery status, all travelers must fill in the Health Control Form.

These rules also apply to the other EU / Schengen territories because Spain has also added them to the high-risk category. The new rules will remain in effect until at least November 28th.

The EU / Schengen countries are:

  • Austria
  • Belgium
  • Bulgaria
  • Croatia
  • Cyprus
  • Czechia
  • Denmark
  • Estonia
  • France
  • Germany
  • Greece
  • Hungary
  • Iceland
  • Ireland
  • Latvia
  • Liechtenstein
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • The Netherlands
  • Norway
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Romania
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • Sweden

Spain has tightened entry rules for travelers from Finland and several Italian regions as well, as the country also categorizes them as high-risk now. These are the areas that are also affected by Spain’s entry rules:

  • Regions of Finland: Southern Finland, Helsinki, Western Finland, Northern and Eastern Finland
  • Regions of Italy: Province of Bolzano, Friuli-Venezia Giulia, Marche, Veneto, Basilicata, Abruzzo, Campania, Emilia-Romagna, Lazio, Calabria, Liguria, Lombardy, Piedmont, Trento, Apulia, Molise, Tuscany, Umbria, and Valle d’Aosta

The Rules for Third Countries Have Also Been Updated

Besides, Spain’s government has announced that it had also updated the list of epidemiologically safe third countries. New on the green list is Indonesia; the rest has remained the same.

These are the third countries that are in Spain’s green category:

  • Argentina
  • Australia
  • Bahrein
  • Canada
  • Chile
  • China
  • Colombia
  • Hong Kong
  • Jordan
  • Kuwait
  • Macao
  • Namibia
  • New Zealand
  • Peru
  • Saudi Arabia
  • South Korea
  • Qatar
  • Rwanda
  • Taiwan
  • United Arab Emirates
  • Uruguay
< Previous Post
Czechia Has Tightened Entry Rules for Nine European Countries
Next Post >
UK Parliament Asks Government to Protect Britons’ Rights in New EU Travel Rules