The UK, Denmark, Netherlands, and Norway to Be Virus Variant Zones in Austria

January 8, 2022
Austria will classify the UK, Denmark, the Netherlands, and Norway as virus variant zones

The UK, Denmark, the Netherlands, and Norway will be virus variant zones in Austria. Austria will tighten entry restrictions for visitors from these countries this Saturday, December 25th.

On Wednesday, December 22nd, Austria decided to introduce the new rule that stipulates travelers from these four countries are now required to quarantine for ten days upon arrival in Austria. But there are some exceptions.

Some Children Can Get the “Holiday Ninja Pass”

The official Austrian travel website reads, “People who are fully vaccinated (double-jabbed) and have received the third booster jab can enter Austria with a negative PCR test (valid 72 hours). Children under the age of 12 are exempt, and teenagers eligible for the Holiday Ninja Pass will be able to enter with a negative PCR test (valid 72 hours).

Teenagers born on or after September 1st, 2006, who have not been vaccinated against Covid-19 but are traveling to Austria with their immunized parents are eligible for the Holiday Ninja Pass. These youngsters must be tested with at least two PCR tests (valid for 27 hours) and one LFT test (valid for 48 hours) over a week, and the findings must be recorded in the Holiday Ninja Pass. When they arrive in Austria, they must also present negative PCR test results, which counts as the initial test.

With the latest move to classify more nations as virus variant areas, Austria’s list of countries where a large number of Omicron cases has been found has grown to include the following countries as of Saturday:

  • Angola
  • Botswana
  • Denmark
  • Eswatini
  • Lesotho
  • Malawi
  • Mozambique
  • Namibia
  • The Netherlands
  • Norway
  • South Africa
  • The United Kingdom
  • Zambia
  • Zimbabwe

Austria Has Imposed Tighter Restrictions Than Pre-Lockdown

While Austria will classify the UK, Denmark, the Netherlands, and Norway as virus variant zones, Denmark said it had scrapped the list of virus variant zones. Denmark communicated that those countries on the list represented a similar risk of spreading the Omicron strain as Denmark.

According to the European Center for Disease Prevention and Control (ECDC), 726 Omicron cases had been found in Denmark by December 20th, while 2,060 cases were detected in Norway and 151 in the Netherlands.

Since Monday, December 20th, Austria has been imposing stricter entry restrictions than before the shutdown, requiring fully vaccinated travelers to produce negative PCR test results upon arrival. Those who are still showing up without test results must quarantine until they can be tested for Covid-19.

< Previous Post
Spain Keeps Entry Rules for EU/Schengen Countries in Effect
Next Post >
The EU Will Impose New Entry Rules for Brits and Other Third-Country Nationals in 2022